The Department was established in 1947 to provide building inspection services to the unincorporated areas of Contra Costa County. Since that time the Department has undergone many changes both in services and directions.

Contract Services
The Department has ventured into contract services to other jurisdictions. For the cities of Clayton, Lafayette, Moraga, and Orinda, the Department serves as the building inspection department.

Building Services
The Department also provides a variety of building services to the cities of El Cerrito, San Pablo, Hercules, Pittsburg, Walnut Creek, Albany, Antioch, and Brentwood.