Medi-Cal and Health Care Options

The Employment and Human Services Department (EHSD) enrolls customers into an available health care option in accordance with the Affordable Care Act. Staff at EHSD can enroll customers into a health care program, including Medi-Cal or subsidized health coverage plans. Subsidized or unsubsidized health coverage plans are purchased through California’s health coverage marketplace, Covered Ca.  

Health Coverage Options 

MAGI Medi-Cal

Medi-Cal eligibility includes the non-disabled, non-elderly, childless adult population up to 138% of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL). Household income will be calculated using the Modified Gross Adjusted Income (MAGI), which is the adjusted gross income as defined on household income tax returns. There is no asset/property test for MAGI households. For more information, please click here.

Private Insurance from the Exchange Plans

The State’s Health Coverage Exchange, known as Covered Ca, will offer four different health plan levels - platinum, gold, silver or bronze.  The four levels are distinct in premium cost and benefit levels. All levels provide the minimum essential coverage required by the Affordable Cara Act. Advanced Premium Tax Credits (APTC) are available to help offset the cost of health insurance for families whose modified adjusted gross income is under 400% FPL. Additional savings through Cost Sharing Reductions (CSR) are available for families whose modified adjusted gross income is under 250% FPL. The insurance companies that will be available in Contra Costa County are Anthem Blue Cross of California, Blue Shield, Health Net, Contra Costa Health Plan, and Kaiser Permanente. For more information, please visit Covered Ca.

Traditional Non-MAGI Medi-Cal

The Non-MAGI Medi-Cal population will include the aged, blind, and disabled, long-term care, medically needy, and individuals deemed eligible for Medi-Cal as a result of other programs such as CalWORKs, Adoption Assistance Program, or foster care. Non-MAGI Medi-Cal eligibility will remain subject to the asset/property test. For more information, please click here.