Aviation Advisory Committee

The Aviation Advisory Committee (AAC) was established in 1977 to provide advice and recommendations to the Board of Supervisors on aviation issues related to the Contra Costa County Airports.  The AAC works to advance aviation while giving those community members living and working near the Airports a chance to stay informed on Airport matters as well as voice their opinions and concerns.  The AAC also provides a forum for vetting policy matters related to Buchanan Field and Byron Airports.

Meeting Calendar

A list of recent and upcoming meetings with dates, locations, time and agenda/packet.

Current Committee Membership Roster

Association Member
Airports Business Administration Mike Bruno (Chair)
City of Concord Keith McMahon
City of Pleasant Hill Derek Mims
Diablo Valley College Janet Kaiser
District 1 (Supervisor Gioia) Rudi Raab
District 2 (Supervisor Andersen) Roger Bass
District 3 (Supervisor Piepho) Ronald Reagan
District 4 (Supervisor Mitchoff) Tom Weber (Vice-Chair)
District 5 (Supervisor Glover) Russell Roe
Member at Large DeWitt Hodge
Member at Large M. Ed Young (Secretary)

Tenant Recognition Program

In 2007, the AAC created the Buchanan Field Tenant Recognition Program to recognize tenants of the airport who stand out in their contribution to the airport's success in aviation, commerce or community service. To nominate an airport tenant for this award, please use this nomination form. 

Tenant Recognition Award Recipients

2014 Patriots Jet Team Foundation
2013 Sterling Aviation, EAA Ch. 393 Mt. Diablo Pilots Association
2012 Bay Area Skydiving, EAA Ch. 393 Young Eagles Program
2011 Frank Lemon, Rich Spatz
2010 Pacific States Aviation
2009 Bob Johnson, William & Tillie Larkins
2008 The Ninety-Nines San Joaquin Valley Chapter, Pat Peters, Virginia A. Schaefer
2007 Dianne Lauren Cole, Dave Long, Richard J. Rihn, M.D.